Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that zoos should be shut down as a matter of animals rights, while others suppose they are of paramount importance in conserving wild species. In my point of view, although zoos can bring in some shortcomings to the wildlife, their advantages on animal preservation should receive much attention

On the one hand, since being kept in captivity, animals are deprived of freedom, thus losing their basic instincts. Specifically, caging animals in small spaces along with providing them food every day can deter them from their natural habitat. Gradually, certain skills of wild animals like predating, escaping or searching for fruits will die out. Also, some animals find it extremely challenging to get acquainted with the staring of tourists or their cameras’ flash, which could be seriously deteriorated

On the other hand, zoos play an indispensable role in protecting endangered species. Recently, there have been so many scientific reports about species being on the verge of extinction and unable to sustain themselves in their natural environment. For example loads of pandas can not find food and reproduce because of the massive loss of bamboo trees in many areas. As a result, zoos appear with a mission of rescuing these animals by providing them with suitable conditions and breeding them as well

To conclude, although both schools of thought are true to a certain extent. I strongly believe if being operated properly, zoos can do many wonders to our ecosystem, consequently, their benefits should be taken into much thorough consideration