“Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.”

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A controversy exists regarding the existence of zoos, some people assume that animals are treated harshly, so the zoos should be closed down, other people believe that zoos play an important role in wildlife conservation. Both views have their arguments that will be addressed, coupled with my own perspective on this controversial issue.

On one hand, the opponents feel that zoos are just a source of gaining money, and the animals are suffering for different factors, such as contamination because of some visitors, in addition, a lack of freedom owing to captivity. Regarding the healthy feeding, when animals are born in constrained places, they become dependent on humans, therefore, it is considered as a huge burden for the zoos’ budget. However, zoos struggle to stay profitable, and some zoos are failing to meet their annual financial targets.

On the other hand, the supporters believe that zoos are a good environment for the animals’ safety, where scientists are allowed to study animals and their behaviors. Additionally, zoos help to protect lots of rare and weak species like pandas and zebras from predators and humans who hunt animals. Furthermore, from an economic perspective, zoos provide job opportunities and income for the local areas, as well as the money can be used for conservation projects and research.

In conclusion, the drawbacks and benefits are easily found in keeping those places opened. In my opinion, I completely agree with their existence because zoos are one of the important educational and interesting places. They make a great day out for families to escape the pressure of life. Children, in particular, enjoy learning about animals.