People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

These days, individuals spend less time sleeping compared to recent ages. This essay will discuss the main causes of this state of affairs and then describe the possible effects of the problem.

To start with, electronic devices that people use before sleep are disturbing the brain. Researchers are convinced that smartphones and other screen-based technologies are adding to stress and anxiety levels, which, in turn, hinder sleep. For example, the last BBC report shows that over the last ten years, the number of adults owning a cellphone has more than doubled, and many of them prefer to use that technology later in the day. Besides, many individuals sleep a lot less because they study or work through the night. This situation happened due to the social and economic changes in our world now, so it’s getting harder to make money for us.

The effects of this issue include physical health problems and a loss of productivity. People who don’t sleep for at least seven or eight hours become tired faster than others at work or school. It’s difficult for them to concentrate on the most important tasks. For instance, research from the ‘Aesthetic Medicine’ magazine reveals that English students who spend less time sleeping demonstrate poor academic performance. Moreover, sleep deprivation can lead to awful tragedies in real life. The thousands of car accidents in every country are usually caused by sleepy drivers.

In conclusion, a lack of sleep is mainly evoked by new forms of high technology and the pressure of modern life. The effects can range from small to huge, so it’s crucial for people to get enough sleep, and it’s important that it be at night.