Some say that the most important thing about being rich is that one has the opportunity to help other. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decades, the gap between the rich and the poor has never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although social hierarchy is ever-present, the issue as to whether the rich should give a helping hand to others or not remains controversial. In my opinion, donation or other form of contribution is necessary for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is important to recognize that donators and sponsors of social activities are beneficiaries, many may argue that only recipients are benefited. However, they should take into account the fact that the rich are have many psychological problems such as the felling of loneliness, isolation. For example, most of their social relations are prone to superficial, transient and ad-hoc. Thereby having a tranquil friendship, companionship is difficult among the rich. This example indicates that philanthropists who have financial affordability and willingness to help others in need often will gain psychological reward like inner peace, sense of satisfaction, mutual understanding hardship of others.

Secondly, it is equally important to recognize that patrons who spend money to help local community or contribute to social fund play an instrumental role in the improvement of living quality. Opponents may argue that their contribution makes little difference. However, the are ignorant of the fact that many event-consistent problems that cannot be solved effectively by governments only. For instance, many social problems such as encourage of the education, accommodation for the impoverish or the global problems like food supply crisis, infectious epidemic, natural disaster need long-tern commitment and huge fund. Therefore, only government’s effort is insufficient to help the difficult situation residents because they have to pay attention in others issue. this example shows that concerted and join force by government and sponsors are needed.

In conclusion, not only does it bring psychological rewards to themselves but also contribute to the effort of addressing social problems of government as mentioned above.