Some say that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Sports have been with people for centuries or even millennia. While many people regard such activities as merely recreational, I firmly believe that they confer enormous benefits upon the practitioners, both for personal economic gains and international relationships.

On the one hand, there are a myriad of reasons for the community considering doing sports only a form of relaxation. For starters, only by playing them professionally can players earn a living, and the fact is that the majority of common people do not take them too seriously, such as join in national or international competitions or tournaments. Instead, most of their time is spent on work and studies. This leads to the second factor contributing to the mind-set that is deemed as only for relaxation. After a day at work, workers and students may gather a 5-a-side football pitch to have a jovial match to take their minds off their work and recharge their batteries.

However, I would argue that although people may not see the underlying benefits of such carefree participation in sports, the benefits are obvious. in social respect, when participating in a game, people learn different skills, and top among them are interpersonal skills, teamwork spirits; they also learn how compromise in case conflicts arise. All these abilities can facilitate their jobs in the wider society. As a result, they may have more job opportunities and more chances to make money. Another tangible merit of this means of recreation is that it helps enhance the international bonds between nations globally. Sporting events such as the Olympics which is held every four years brings together many countries across the world. As people flock to the host country of the event, they can come in contact with the local cultures and traditions as well as introducing theirs to them. This certainly promotes understanding between countries; accordingly, conflicts may also be alleviated.

All things considered, many may undervalue the role of exercise and see it as mere relaxation, but I am on the opinion that it contributes greatly to the betterment of a person in particular and society as a whole.