Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to the university. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

After completing the program in high school, there are some options for students to follow. Different people will have their distinctive mindsets and thinking. While some students take a gap year for traveling or working, others decide to enter university directly for a higher degree. In my opinion, the merits of taking a gap year outweigh the drawbacks.

To commence with the first notion, there are lots of advantages when students spend a year making a trip. Firstly, traveling to many places, particularly to other countries will help them to broaden their knowledge base. By this I mean that, as students visit different places, they will learn about traditions, and meet many local people with various cultures. From that, they will enhance their knowledge and acquire social skills. Living in many places, they will have different viewpoints about life. In this sensible world, it will bring students closer to the community, foster harmony and fraternity between them and other people thereby improving the ability of adapting to international environments. The second lies in doing different kinds of jobs can have a full understanding of the pluses and minuses. Therefore, they can make decisions for their jobs, find a suitable major and advance their career faster. For instance, Vietnam has welcomed a lot of foreign students every year, who have a tendency to experience before attending university. They do some volunteer work and after this work, they will realize their dream, and pursue it.

Despite the benefits, there are a few obstacles for such a scenario. The foremost reason is that students lose their momentum. To explain this, the current knowledge may fade away due to a long time without practicing. They will have some difficulties in their studies if they go back to school. It will demand them to put more effort to keep up with their peers. Moreover, the gap requires precise planning. They must give a thorough thought about the choice, because during that time if they don't have enough budget on finding a job they might suffer from some psychological issues such as anxiety and depression. Even worst, this may push them to illegal activities: theft, consumption of drugs, and many more.

In conclusion, although each side of the situation has advantages and disadvantages. I believe spending a year traveling and working brings more benefits for the youth in order to discover their passions.