Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to the university. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is becoming more popular for some graduated high school students to take a trip or be being employees for a year rather than attending university directly. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

There are considerable benefits of traveling or working for a period of time before school leavers attend university. The first benefit is that high school graduates can gain more practical experiences including working experience and communication skills by being employees before studying higher education. As a result, they may hone many skills such as teamwork, multi-tasking, or the way to communicate with customers that can help them alleviate the woking pressure or stress when they having a long-term job. Moreover, spending time on working period can help them understand their strengths or weaknesses deeply in order to choose the most suitable major when applying for the university. Another advantage is that high school students can cultivate cultural and societal knowledge when they take a trip for a period of time instead of going intermediately to university. Through visiting many places, school leavers can expose to different cultures that bring to them an amount of knowledge about life, cultures, or society. These travel experiences they hone can be useful for their future jobs or widen their perspectives.

There are potential drawbacks of postponing going to university for a while to discover new places or working after graduating from high school. The first drawback is that getting jobs at a young age can make school leaver lose their study interest and are distracted from their academic goals. They are tempted into earning money and spend the majority of their time working that can lead to a decline in academic achievement and university skipping. Another disadvantage is that some inexperienced school leavers may be at risk of being exploited when doing entry-level jobs or suffer from potential dangers on their trips. The lack of practical experience, self-defense skills, and communication skills can lead young high school graduates to some unintended problems, such as scamming, bullying, and kidnapping.