Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

The usage of cell phones has been prohibited in several schools. While these devices can undoubtedly play a role in safety, connectedness and even learning, many educational institutions have decided to ban mobiles within the school premises. In my opinion, I believe that it is a positive step that can bring benefits academically and improve health.

Restricting mobile use can improve learning. This is simply because, without these devices, there are far fewer distractions for both students and teachers. When a student has their phone in their lap or pocket, for instance, there is an irresistible urge to check constantly for texts, alerts or social media updates. Even the most observant teacher, cannot prevent them from sneakily checking the messages or scrolling through them when they become addicted. These endless distractions draw attention away from important educational matters and erode attention spans, which can long term effects on academic progress. A blanket ban on phones during class frees learners from this compulsive checking and allows them to focus.

Less phone usage may improve well being. In terms of health, phones can emit harmful radiation including IR rays which consequently would damage eyesight. A clear example illustrates extensive research done by Oxford University on how the time spent on screens, would affect vision. The results showed that greater screen time deteriorated the health of the eyes. Therefore, as a matter of fact, force children to wear glasses or even have surgery if some content in their eyes is damaged extensively. So, the prohibition of cell phones within school premises has a positive impact in terms of the pupils' health and safety.

In conclusion, having access to technology may have benefits, however, along with those facts are some drawbacks that may lead to low academic performance as well as damage to one's physical condition. It is recommended that the schools offer technological support to assist their students to broaden their knowledge, rather than encouraging everyone to have a mobile phone of their own.