Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university.

Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Young people are encouraged to take a job for a few years in the period of school and university. As they can be used to the working environment at an early age and get some feedback from their employer. However, they have to face with two challenges: have difficulties in balance their daily routine and might feel stressed because of the huge amount of work.

There are two main benefits that students should apply for a job during their gap year. First, they can be accustomed to the real working environment. They will know how to work efficiently to get paid more by meeting customer’s requirements to get some tips. Therefore, they learn the definition of working for an actual working period and when it comes to being an official employee at a company, they will automatically blend in with everybody and plan the best strategy to thrive. Secondly, they can receive some useful feedback from their manager or boss. It is inevitable to make some mistakes when we start working at a very young age. No matter how positive or negative the judgement seems, it is always better to learn from your mistakes and improve to get promoted. They soon realize that the comment they got in their short working period is the most priceless thing as a preparation for working officially at a well-known company only when they graduate and try so hard to get a well-paid job.

On the other hand, there are two main drawbacks that teenagers may face when being paid to work. The first thing is trying their best to balance the schedule between enjoying themselves and working although it is so perplexed to handle. That is the most popular problem that most adolescents feel too overwhelmed to cope with. For some reasons, they still have to enroll for a talent class such as playing an instrument or help their parents doing housework. Besides, they also need some time for social interactions, for instance going out with their close friends. Moreover, they have a need to recharge themselves after a long day chasing money too. Those explain for the reason behind the cutback of short trips with friends or chilling time at night to prior their job. The second point is that they may feel depressed and exhausted due to dealing with so much work at the same time. For young people who spend their gap year to work instead of going straight to university, they may be suitable for jobs being paid a low salary such as servants. The explanation for this is they have not been given a reliable certificate from any universities yet. In terms of working as a waiter, they have to do cleaning, take the orders and make the drink or other dessert. They work like that for four to five hours a day. Undoubtedly, there are no questions why they can’t avoid feeling worn-out. If this lasts for a long time, depression definitely will slowly attack their mental health.

In conclusion, it is such a deal to experiment working before going to university. The beneficial points are being familiar with the working environment and cultivating your skills in that field by some support whereas being lost in finding a way to arrange the schedule and being extremely tired leading to having an effect on psychology are the common disadvantageous ones. By all means, those challenging tasks are just the beginning of a bumpy road which leads to success if you never stop making effort.