Some think we should take more measures to deal with criminals. However, others think that there is not much we can do to curb law-breaking. Discuss both sides and give your own opinions.

In the modern century, the world suffers from the increase in crime rate throughout many nations, which eventually breeds the fear of innocent civilians. Some insist we should take more actions to tackle criminals and others believe there is not much we can do to reduce-curb and I lay my thoughts alongside the more actions as well.

There are many facts making us think that we can do nothing to reduce criminals rate. Firstly, most stringent punishments such as death penalties are enforced, the crime rate is still on the rise. Secondly, it is difficult to control the motives for committing a crime because of them stem from people’s greed or hatred which built-in nature. Thirdly, the development and expansion of many people who engage in criminal activities more and more difficult to eliminate.

In spite of the above argument, I support the view that there are many ways to address the root problems. Firstly, identify the causes of different types of crimes, the motive of criminals and then imposing stricter punishment could act as a deterrent so would-be criminals will think twice and discouraged to re-offend. Secondly, rehabilitation programs could allow inmates to engage in sports, religious activities, vocational training and this help those have better employment opportunities after being released, so they are less likely to recommit a crime then reduce the overall crime rate. Finally, educating people, especially young people, to teach them basic laws that people are often unaware of and media should cover incidents that people commit crime due to their ignorance of legislations.

In conclusion, the fact that impose stricter punishment on committing offences could not prevent the crime rate rising, either to greedy nature. However, eradicating the root cause of crime by providing education and employment opportunities is a far better option.