Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There is no hesitation in saying that celebrities like sports stars are paid a considerably high amount of money than those who are in important professions like teachers, doctors and engineers. Some believe that this is the right approach, whereas others consider this to be unjustifiable. In my opinion, there should not be a significant difference between the earnings of sportspeople and other professionals.

Those who support the high earnings of sports professionals claim that sports stars should earn high salaries due to two main reasons. Firstly, even the most talented sports professionals must undergo many years of training to develop the skills and fitness required, and this takes great commitment, dedication and passion. Secondly, talented sportspeople can even enhance the reputation of their country by winning international championships. However, there is no justification for giving them astronomical salaries, especially since their contributions to improving people's lives are negligible.

On the other hand, life would be difficult without doctors, engineers, teachers and other vital professionals. We can survive without sportspersons, but we might suffer or die with illness when doctors are not available. Teachers educate and inspire young people to be responsible citizens: their efforts produce the citizens of tomorrow. Similarly, there will be no civilization or useful technology without scientists and engineers. These professionals should earn high salaries because of their valuable services. Whereas, sports person are keen on showing their skills and provide entertainment to the public. Thus, it is felt that health, education and development in the country is the basic need for people and those professionals who provide these facilities should support with higher wages than sports salaries.

In conclusion, paying enormous salaries to sportspeople is unnecessary. We need to reconsider our social priorities and eliminate the great disparity in income received by diverse professionals. By doing so, we can build societies in which each one feels valued, appreciated and appropriately compensated for their own vocation or specialization.