Many people think it is very important to protect the environment but they make no effort to do it themselves. Why is the case? What actions can be done to encourage individuals to protect the environment?

In the future, the world will face many new environmental problems, while we live in an age when many of us take responsibility for protecting the environment but make no attempt to do it. This essay will examine the main cause of this case and possible solutions to encourage people to conserve the environment.

The two main causes of individuals do not take action to environmental preservation are people having too many other things to worry about and they have a knowledge deficit. Nowadays, we're bombarded with messages about crime, the economy, and diseases, while the human brain can handle only so many competing concerns. For example, people much more likely to worry about a sick family member or a friend who just lost her job than environmental problems. Additionally, ignorance leads to be dismissive and doubtful about the reality of global climate change. For many of us, the effects of global climate change do not find an important topic, and thus do not seek out more information on the problem. Even when the problem starts to become a topic of interest, people purposefully set aside the facts because of the thought: “the things I could do won’t really make a difference".

One possible solution to this problem is disproving people's inclinations to think of global environmental problems as far-way. A critical, open-minded campaign can encourage people to share factual information. A fact that our environmental problems are not going to be solved on an individual level so we should try to find others to share concerns and brainstorm possible actions. On the other hand, I believe that ordinary people, through small, everyday actions, can also greatly contribute to protecting the environment. For instance, citizens in many countries, like the Netherlands, have now shifted towards using bicycles and subway trains for their daily travel instead of cars, which has so far helped reduce a tremendous amount of CO2 released into the air, and improved air quality.

In conclusion, people have different reasons for unawareness and non-recognition of environmental problems but people's effects could not negate. Environmental campaign and advance environmental information are some solutions government should release to encourage public preserve the environment.