In some time countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Recently more and more options have opened for youngster to pursue education, one of which is taking a gap year after finishing high school and before enrolling in university. This essay intends to analyse both sides of the choice.

As regards the benefits, a period break during this period contributes a great deal to students' self-development and promotes essential skills for the future. During this time, students have chances to do whatever they want such as travelling abroad for further knowledge, participating in community services or trying applying for a job to discover their true abilities and wishes. Bill Gates, for instance, even dropped out of university and riskily set up his own business which led him to success. Moreover, students who experience such break tend to work excellently in academia as they have acquired crucial abilities and characteristics such as patience and determination.

However, this is not an easy choice. It is a real challenge that will beat weaklings after a short period of time. Youngsters that have just gone out of high school do not fully prepared for difficulties. In the gap year, many choose to go overseas in which they may undergo homesickness or stress. Another problem to state is that some may be distracted from their original purposes as they experience such a variety of aspects of the society.

To conclude, taking a space break between the end of high school and the beginning of an educational institution should be encouraged if young people are sure of what they are doing.