Is the mental strength important for success in sports or is it more important to have strong and fit people in sports. Discuss both views and give opinion.

It is argued by some people that being mentally strong is key to success in sports, whereas others think that having those with physical strength is more significant. I am personally in favour of the viewpoint of the first group.

Nobody can deny that strength and fitness contribute greatly to a sportman's career. Taking up a sport is not easy as heard, in fact, it is a process of hard training in which muscles are often driven to limit. Thus, sports require powerful body, energy and flexibility. Football, for instance, is not for weeklings. A professional match lasts for up to 90 minutes so only those with lots of energy and fast reflexes are qualified for it. Moreover, injuries are unable to be avoided when being involved in sports. Well-built bodies can mitigate the severity of injuries whenever athletes hurt themselves. For example, rugby players are prone to violent collision, so they must be large and strong so as to prevent unwanted consequences.

However, a strong determination is the key. Strong though athletes may be, they can not always win without willpower and self-confidence. Spirits affect a lot to the outcome, and I believe success can be achieved only when people have a clear goal in mind. Take an example of runners who are deprived of energy in the middle of the race, only strong will and determination will help in such situation, giving them an incentive to completed it.

In conclusion, while physical strength and fitness help a lot in sports, I believe that without mental strenght all efforts will go in vain.