Is the mental strength important for success in sports or is it more important to have strong and fit people in sports. Discuss both views and give opinion.

It is true that mental and physical strength play a crucial role in success in many aspects of life, especially in sports. Some people claim that mental strength is more important due to the fact that it helps them have enthusiasm and encouragement to finish their goals, while others argue that being strong and fit exerts positive effects on success of athletes. I am going to dissect both views of this topic.

Granted, it is clear that in addition to ability, successful people need perseverance to pursue their target, especially in sports. Cristiano Ronaldo is a particular example. Although nobody can deny his talent, he spent many years to practice in Sporting CP before joining in Manchester United and becoming one of the most famous football players around the world. There are no many people have enthusiasm and persistence to overcome obstacles and their laziness for a long time. Therefore, mental strength has principle impact on how long they can reach goals.

However, in sports, physical ability exerts positive effects on people’s success. If you do not have special talent, in spite of spending more time, your achievement is not similar to a genius in this area. Besides, athletes need an appearance suit for the sport they play. For example, you cannot become a successful player in high jump if your height is under 160 centimeter. However, some people have demonstrated the opposite view when they gain a high result despite the fact that they do not have dominant bodies, such as Messi.

In conclusion, I would argue that although physical strength is necessary for sport players to achieve success, mental strength is more important for the development of athletes in the future.