Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology is taking up the world in every sector. Time changes, so do the circumstances and the related fields. Education sector is also changing in the modern era. I think it is positive development that now universities are offering their courses over internet.

On the one hand, there are many advantages of shifting education on internet, so that people can study online. Firstly, due to the ongoing corona situation most of the universities are closed, so in the time of crisis online education is very helpful. Secondly, online education is very important for working professionals. People who can not afford to leave their job they can study online in their free time. At last, in recent time due to the digitization universities are offering courses online. It is very good platform to connect with people globally. Nowadays, Online education is very popular among the youngsters as it requires less time than attending a university.

On the other hand, online education have many advantages but it has some disadvantages too. To begin with, online education is not able to provide the personal development which according to me can only be achieved with offline courses. And, it is very necessary for the growth. In addition to this, courses on internet may not able to practical work associated with the course. For example, In civil engineering there are some practical labs associated with the courses, which is necessary to learn in practical manner.

In conclusion, I believe the providing university courses on the internet is surely a positive development. It is a efficient mode to learn while you are working and connecting with students globally.