You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The ability to learn new information and new skills whenever and wherever we want offers far greater opportunities for education than ever before. Many tertiary education institutions are providing their courses and classes online through internet currently. I consider this development as a positive trend because online learning has the potential to offer convenience for the learners and also it can be seen as a great tool to reduce the cost of tradition teaching method.

The greatest benefit which is worth to mention of online education is convenience. This means to say that students can learn whenever they want at their convenient time and there is on rush to complete the task. In addition these online classes are available for twenty four hours a day and seven days of a week. Therefore, if anyone wants to advances their education meanwhile also wants to work to earn the livelihood, he or she can easily make the schedule suits to himself or herself. For example, pupils from different parts of a country or even world can easily take these online classes and can further their careers. All they have to do is to be online in time. Moreover, recorded classes, access to notes, assignments, quizzes and projects works are uploaded to the website so that students can use them as their reference source.

Another point to consider is the huge financial benefit of the online learning. Online education can be a source of cost reduction for students, teachers, institutions and thus for a country. To illustrate, a person can work, a mom can baby-sit or even a pet owner can sit pets along with taking online classes and this way can save huge amount of money. Furthermore, the significant amount of money which is spent on gas for transit to campus for students, teachers and other office workers is also saved in this way.

In conclusion, the scope and reach of education broadens to far greater horizons that perhaps ever emarginated. So, many universities take the approach to offer online courses to their student. In my opinion, it is far grater opportunity and possibility to advance the career and thus it is a positive trend for the society.