Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that online learning is becoming a common feature of tertiary education. Although there are several disadvantages of provide online courses for students, I would argue that this trend is far more beneficial.

There are some drawbacks when universities offer internet-based learning for participants. Firstly, students may not lack the direct interactions with their teachers and peers while discussing and exchanging ideas, which means they heavily reply on written form of communication. If students come up with the problems, they will not know how to solve the problems without the direct guidance of their teachers. Secondly, due to the available resources on the internet, students waste their time seeking for the materials for their lessons. Online learning, therefore, poses a heavy pressure and burden on learners that leads to the anxiety and depression for them.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that joining online courses brings a wide range of merits for learners. Unlike students on traditional courses, online students are able to have access immediately to the lectures that they do not need to travel too far to school.

Furthermore, it is also convenient for them that they will have a flexible way to study because they can choose the most appropriate time, which suits their schedule. Finally, online courses create great opportunities for people to learn regardless of age, ability or background. For instance, my aunt, who is 60 years old, has enrolled on an MBA program in a different country that would have been impossible before internet-based education.

In conclusion, while I recognize the limitations of learning on the virtual platform, I consider it to be a generally positive development.