Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that students nowadays can get university qualifications through online courses. In my opinion, this trend has certain advantages, but they are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, I believe that there are three major benefits of online learning. Firstly, by taking online courses, students do not have to go to their universities so they can save a huge amount of time and expense for commuting. Secondly, many distance learning programmes allow learners to choose the time when their lessons begin, and this makes students much more active in their studies. As a result, these students can get better academic results compared to those attending traditional classes. Finally, online learners can easily review what they have learned by simply visiting the websites of their universities where learning materials are usually posted.

On the other hand, there are two main factors, in my view, that makes studying online a negative development. When students study in the comfort of their homes, they are likely to be exposed to a variety of distractions such as video games, TV programmes or even calls from their close friends. Therefore, it may be hard for them to completely concentrate on their lessons. Another factor is the fact that higher education often requires students to conduct a lot of research and experiments. University students studying chemistry, for instance, have to go to the laboratory almost on a weekly basis so that they can put their knowledge into practice. Since courses on the Internet provide students with fewer or even no opportunity to conduct experiments, learners may struggle it comes to solving real-life problems, and this lead to lower education quality.

In conclusion, it seems to me that studying online courses offered by universities is, overall, a negative development.