Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that online learning is becoming a prevalent feature of tertiary education. Although there are some drawbacks of internet-based learning, i would argue that there are far more benefits.

The disadvantage of online courses is the lack of real interactions between teachers and students. Students may not have the opportunity to discuss with their teachers through face- to face communication, they have to reply on written forms of communication instead. In addition ,students have a tendency to be distracted from convincing apps,interesting games during studying on the website. Students do not need to adhere to disciplines which are informed in universities, so they learn online lessons and chatting or playing game.

Despite the given demerits, i believe there are a number of advantages from online courses from universities. Firstly, students can get access to higher education with a flexible schedule. As students have their own job including a full-time job or a part-time job , so they need a versatile timetable to balance work and study ,which could not find in any lecture.Secondly, learners can pursue studying in reputable universities regardless of geographical location. For example, Harvard, one of the prestigious universities in the world, offers a wide range of online courses such as art and design, data science,business and management and so on for students who come from other countries. Ultimately, it reduces the financial burden on students and parents. It is obvious that the cost of most of the online lesson is more affordable than that of lecture at colleges and universities.