Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In light of technological advancements, the Internet has become increasingly prevalent in several fields, including education. Many universities are now offering off-campus courses instead of traditional classrooms. From my perspective, I would contend that the advantages of online learning are outweighed by its disadvantages.

First and foremost, students’ communication skills cannot be reinforced due to the lack of direct interaction. Distance learning, as opposed to physical classes, is operated through the Internet. Students and teachers do not have face-to-face conversations, which deprives students of developing their communicative skills. In addition, as students do not communicate with instructors and other classmates on a regular basis, they cannot forge strong relationships. As a result, they can hesitate to consult and discuss with others. In the long run, this may lead to learners’ loneliness and hinder students from acquiring higher academic performance.

Worse still, online learning, which provides students with flexible schedules, can contribute to student’s procrastination. Without strict supervision from teachers, online lessons can cause neglect and indiscipline among students. That can be associated with students’ lack of motivation to learn, resulting in low academic productivity. Online courses during COVID19 pandemic perfectly exemplify this drawback. After months of online learning, the Ministry of Education has had to simplify the tests as the quality of e- learning is not guaranteed. This is a testament to how online courses can affect students’ learning outcome.

In conclusion, I am convinced that online courses can exert more negative effects on students than positive ones, including lack of communication skills, procrastination and lower academic performance.