Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental protection is one of the most attention-grabbing problems. While some people agree with the idea that individual effort is useless, I believe that protecting the environment should be the responsibility of not only governments but also individuals.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that resolving global issues needs actions from governments. Only the government can pass laws aimed at protecting the environment. Without these laws, there would be few dramatic improvements in environmental conditions.

On the other hand, individuals also have an important role in environmental protection. Firstly, laws passed by politicians are useless without the contribution of citizens. Moreover, there are various ways that people can help shield the environment, such as recycling more, buying more energy-efficient household items, using renewable energy sources or planting more trees in their garden. Therefore, this work will reduce waste and fossil fuel usage.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I maintain that the responsibility of saving the Earth belongs to not only politicians but also individuals.