Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside .What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

Proportion of youth are migrating to settle themselves in cities and towns, after leaving the countryside. As a result a lot of elderly people are left alone in the countryside .In this essay we are going to discuss the problems caused by this issue, and also ways to overcome it.

There are many reasons why young people prefer to live in Cities and Towns compared to spending their lives in the countryside.But the two main reasons are lifestyle and better Education.

Due to such migration, there are problems with development back in the countryside, along with overpopulation of cities. Firstly, the rate of development of countryside will be much slower as compared to the towns and cities. The lack of development will further add to the problems, as the facilities like Hospitals, Schools etc will be understaffed. The places will be hard to fill. For example, Britain's countryside hospitals are facing severe shortage of doctors and other healthcare employees as compared to the hospitals in London, where there is a high rate of competition for getting a job. Secondly, overpopulation of cities and towns leads to high rates of job saturation, along with very high rates of competition. According to a report In Financial Times there was a competition rate of 10.2 for a job in London, which was over threefold for the same job in Swansea.

An answer to this solution would be to develop countryside and to ensure that the people of countryside gets the same facilities as that of any people living in a city or a town. The government should ensure to maintain a uniformity in paychecks to its employees, so that people willing to earn better and have a better lifestyle in cities holds back and stays in the countryside. For instance, the National Health Service in the U.K has ensured that every medical graduate has to serve in a countryside for minimum 3 months, such policies ensures that Hospitals are not understaffed, which will further help to the elderly people back in the countryside.