Some young people look forward to a gear of travelling, a "gap year" before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Originated from western cultures, gap year, a year of travelling after school, is becoming familiar even in eastern cultures, such as in China, Japan or Vietnam. The attitudes towards this practice are controversal due to its mixed impacts.

On the negative side, there are some obvious unfavourable consequences of gap year. Many people argue that school leavers are unable to afford this kind of trips, their parents are inevitably the one who pay for these expenses, which is somehow a burden to the whole family. Another demerit is the waste of one year instead of going to college. It is undoubtedly time-consuming and may affect the graduation process of the students.

However, supporters of this belief can announce a list of beneficial results of gap year. The first in-favoured outcome is that this trip can give a chance for newly school graduated students to meet people of diverse social and cultural backgrounds, which they have never done during their school years. As a result, they can gain a deep understanding of human beings and society, thus, may become more tolerant to differences. Another benefit is the likely improved health of travellers as they have time to relax and enjoy themselves after a long period of schooling.

Taking both points of view into consideration, I personally support the practice of gap year due to hugely obvious benefits it brings. To solve the financial matter of travelling, students can do part-time work during this year to alleviate their parents’ financial burden. In terms of late graduation, it can be marginal in comparison to their long-life career. In brief, the benefits of gap year obviously outweigh the adverse consequences.