Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world.

How can the government ensure all these people can live together harmoniously?

With the impact of globalization, many cities have become multicultural with people from all parts of the world. These people with different cultural and linguistic backgrounds are likely to face misunderstanding and other difficulties. It is the authority that should hold responsibility to create harmony among various groups in society. The essay will suggest viable measures that the government can apply in order to achieve that purpose.

First of all, introducing laws to regulate behaviours regarding racism should be prioritized by the lawmakers. When these laws are applied, violent racist actions will be punished accordingly, which can prevent the similar behaviours. By abiding by these laws, people from minority groups are defended against discrimination, thus they can contribute more to the social development, which in turn create a balanced and harmonious society

Secondly, to avoid racial conflicts in cosmopolitan settings, educators are advised to include subjects on multicultural society and designed activities for students from various cultures to learn about each other’s cultures. These subjects may teach students about cultures and languages of the countries of origin of the students. The activities can be cultural festivals where children can learn about their friends’ customs and habits. Through these activities, understanding among children of various backgrounds can be boosted and the children may become more tolerant to differences.

To sum up, the authority can facilitate mutual understanding and tolerance among people from different backgrounds by introducing laws against racism as well as by including school subjects on how to engage in multicultural settings.