Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do you agree?

In a competitive work market, graduates are required to show both their educational qualifications and their experience to become future competent employees. Some people make a suggestion that schools should include work-related activities besides academic subjects in their curriculum. I am a supporter of this point of view for some reasons below.

Firstly, some academic subjects such as mathematics and physics may be not necessarily of importance for the majority but only for a small proportion of students. In other words, there are some above average students who are able to follow abstract aspects of these academic subjects whilst the majority of learners should be encouraged to obtain basic academic knowledge. Instead of demanding heavy understanding of these subjects, schools and educators should give their students practical courses and skills which will surely be helpful for their future careers.

Furthermore, it can be seen in the real world that even graduates with honours may not be welcomed if they are short of soft skills and experience. For instance, a student of good mathematic knowledge may seem unimportant if he or she cannot write a decent report. Thus, schools and universities may enhance their students’ practical skills and knowledge by introducing work-related courses so that their students can opt for if they wish.

To sum up, I strongly believe that it is the responsibility of schools and universities to provide their students with practical courses in order to help them gain real-life experience and a better understanding of the real working society.