To what extent has the Internet made life more convenient? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience?

With the invention of the Internet several decades ago, human beings have experienced the widespread impact of it, mostly positive with a few negative signs as well.

There are numerous benefits connected with the appearance of the Internet. Firstly, the Internet has played an obvious role as a connector for the whole mankind, which means that people can use it to get in touch with their relatives and friends by messaging or video-calling each other through some applications on the Internet without paying huge amounts of money in comparison to the phone use in the past. Secondly, the development of the Internet has led to the appearance of new services and technology based on the Internet, which has made our life much easier. For example, people had to go out to buy a pizza in the past, but now they can conveniently choose and order their favourite pizza using an application on their smart phones. It is clear that the Internet has also brought countless numbers of services and developments for our society as we cannot list all in this writing.

However, the Internet has come to human civilization without no drawbacks. The first negative influence is on human physical health because when amounts of time one using the Internet increase, time for physical activities will decrease. Another demerit of the Internet is that it has enabled new types of crime to exist: cyber-crime or digital crime. If there was no the Internet, these kinds of crime would not have appeared. Individuals and governments are spending a lot of money and time tackling these kinds of crime.

To sum up, it is no doubt that humans have been beneficial greatly due to the existence of the Internet. Nevertheless, the Internet has shown some problematic issues as well. It is recommended that individuals and governments should co-operate closely to decrease the negative impact of this glamorous invention.