Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Recent decades have witnessed an increase in space tourism, raising many questions of safety from many scientists worldwide. Although the advantages could be pronounced, they are outweighed by the downsides in discernible ways.

On the one hand, there are a multitude of reasons why space travel could be fraught with pitfalls. First, there is a correlation between space tourism and prohibitive capital investments in researching and developing many advanced space technologies. For example, manufacturing a single spaceship could cost government agencies and private space corporations billions of dollar, let alone disbursements on the spaceship maintenance. Second, Space travel could put tourists’ health in jeopardy due to the discrepancies in atmospheres. It is implied that if tourists unfortunately decouple with the main space station, they will suffer from suffocation as the air gradually leaks out and subsequently their body will be conducive to explosion stemming from pressure imbalance.

On the other hand, Extraterrestrial tourism could bestow net positive benefits. First, Space tourism proceeds would contribute to an increase in national revenues. This means higher degree of monetary investments in other public sectors like healthcare or infrastructure improvement, promoting citizens’ overall living standards. In addition, Space industry generates job opportunities for many professional scientists. This suggests that if extraterrestrial travel is prohibited, many space experts will be made redundant.

In conclusion, I recommend against space tourism due to its substantial impacts regarding costly investments and health impairments. Official authorities and private space companies should only subsidize projects developing technologies for space exploration instead of tourism.