In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

It is true that although agriculture improved significantly, there are still many people suffering from starvation in the world. There are several reasons why many people go hungry, and the government can take steps to address this issue.

In my opinion, two main factors are to blame for the condition that many people are suffering from starvation. Firstly, there is a huge gap between the rich and poor. Developed countries have advanced agriculture technology and have high production of crops and grains. But many developing countries with poor economic foundation are still in poverty. People there are poor, with no money to buy food. Secondly, the damage to the environment can also lead to starvation. The soil and water in some areas are seriously polluted, so people living here can not grow crops or grains.

The problem can be tackled with the effort of the government. For some poor countries, the government should take measures to develop their economy. And they can introduce in some advanced technology to enhance the crop production. And governments of all countries should make efforts to protect the environment. For example, laws need to be enacted to forbid factories to emit pollution to the soil and the water. Only in this way can we protect the condition of natural soil and water, ensuring the production of crops and grains.

In conclusion, the starvation problem will get worse unless governments take measures to enhance the crop production and protect the environment.