In many countries, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, more people choose to live by themselves or live with only one or two families, which is quite different from the last generation. This trend could contribute to social development, although it also has some downsides.

Living alone or living in small family units is beneficial to personal development. Solitude provides independent living space, so that people can have few restrictions in their daily life. In other words, they can manage their time freer and more flexible, which has opposite effect on their career. They can learn specialized knowledge and professional skills after work to enhance their working abilities. Having more free time also helps to keep a pleasant mood. People can take some exercise or foster a habit instead of dealing with mass, tedious housework. So this kind of lifestyle might contribute to efficient work and brilliant life.

Moreover, this trend could increase consuming demands. People live in smaller family units, leading to higher needs of necessities. For instance, they need an apartment definitely. Some families also need cars or other transportation tools. Besides these, other necessities including furniture, electric appliance are indispensable. Those things can be shared if living in a big family. In this perspective, this trend increases demands and promotes consumption, which facilities economic growth.

However, this lifestyle also has some drawbacks. It has negative impact on relationship between families. Families may lack communication because of not living together. And it is easy to feel lonely if living alone. As time passes, the family bond could be less closer, which is adversed to social harmony.

To summarize, this trend is beneficial to personal development and social economy, although it can cause the weakening of family affection.