In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

The cutting-edge tech of the modern era has not only made life much easier and convenient, but also has greatly reduced the efforts required in many works. One of such area is the agriculture which has flourished immensely, even though; there have been no significant changes in number of starving people of the world. Here, I will be digging up the roots of dilemma and some plausible cures.

As regards to the origin of this mess, the ruling one is presence of multiple intermediaries in the market which help the general public to avail food at their homes or at a specific location. To instantiate, farmers grow food in their fields, sell it to producer, from whom wholesaler and retailers buy the product to vend it consumer. Following the lead is the inflation in the prices of good which is either done by government or companies to preserve food for the time of scarcity or for earning profits, however, this makes it very less feasible for impoverish to enjoy the luxury of one basic need of life. Moreover, factors like import and export, availability of viver in locality, currency of exchange. A leading example is trade between US and India, in which, latter often bring in provisions not being produced in domestic market and selling unique food of the country to former nation at hefty prices. All these reasons contribute to starvation of population around the world as farmers, most of the time, do not get right price of their producer and end user require well-maintained figure of money to always avail it, while the only ones benefiting from all of it are the distributors.

Latching onto curatives of the malady, these are actually quite simple with some major minor drawbacks. The prepotent and most straightforward is to remove or lessen the number of arbitrators from the trade and directly provide food from farmers to consumer, although, it might diminish employment opportunities. Therefore, it is never seen in any market or country around the world. The more reasonable one is providing subsidies on the goods to people, respective to their income and letting farmer to keep some reserves of cultivated goods along with selling rest of these at tenable prices. For instance, income tax is charged according to earnings of a person in India and if the same can be applied to food subsidies, then certainly, it will be boon for many. Another solution is promoting domestic market goods more than foreign ones, despite it not being much influential.

To reiterate, famine is not something which can be cleanse in a one go, it require some careful and rational steps with the support from every possible person such as researchers, public, authorities, scientists and so on.