Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A great number of people consider verbal communication to be stronger comparing to written one. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement, especially since it is effective, flexible, fast and facile to implement.

One of the key factors that makes verbal interaction a powerful mean of communication is its high level of effectiveness. The speaker can use a variety of tones, paces and intensities to vividly convey his/her message or share ideas with the listener, while, regarding the written form of communication, these perks are unavailable. Numerous CEOs and personal development figures, e.g., Anthony Robbins, use oral communications instead of written correspondence to develop a relationship with people and motivate them directly. Furthermore, verbal communication is flexible since, based on the situation, it can be easily altered into a formal or informal manners. For instance, although scientific conferences are usually held in a formal atmosphere, scientists and academics can circulate information in break sessions that have a more informal atmosphere.

Other decisive factors in making verbal communication a strong method of communication is its speed and facility of use. The speakers do not require papers and a pen to share ideas, making acquaintances or apologize to a loved one as they could do it directly, which generally results in a mutual sense of intimacy and understanding. Also, in this regard, feedbacks can be received significantly quicker, which is significantly helpful for the speakers. They can rectify their errors rather quickly and avoid undergoing the time-consuming process of writing.

To conclude, I believe that, due to its effectiveness, flexibility, speed and facility of use, verbal communication is a stronger method of communication compared to the written one.