The spread of multinational companies and resulting increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that there has been a considerable upsurge in multinational companies, resulting in globalization enhancement which will exert profound impacts upon people in many aspects. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, there will be undoubtedly some negative consequences of this trend. In fact, a sharp rise in the number of continental manufacturers lead to a rise in pollution and waste disposed on a daily basis. Furthermore, this can create redundancies or job losses, and even human exploitation, racism of employees coming from less developed countries.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that the benefits of globalization far outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, an increase in proliferation means that all inhabitants worldwide gain a deeper insight into others. This would avoid prejudices against others in the world and make people become a part of international community. Secondly, a global economy means free trade between countries and in turn, it can strengthen political relationships. For example, companies such as Mc Donald’s, Starbuck can be seen on high streets in most cities as well as commodities from Vans, Adidas, Converse, Nike are considered as products for those who have a passion about shoes in the worldwide. Finally, it creates more job opportunities for people as investment in developing nations are encouraged. Thus, it would link to higher living standards, higher profits and a significant decline in poverty.

In conclusion, although some people claim about the pernicious influences of global companies, I personally reckon that it brings more good than harm.