Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, it is believed that many criminals have limited education. Hence, many people think that the most effective way to mitigate crime is to provide education to prisoners so they can secure a job after being released. From my perspective, while I subscribe to this educational method, I opine this is not the best method to be applied to curb this predicament.

On the one hand, education can serve as a useful tool in alleviating infringements. In other words, education can equip people serving their sentence with valuable skills that can be applied in law-abiding and productive endeavors. As a result, a well-educated individual may have better chances of securing employment upon release, reducing the likelihood of returning to crime. In Vietnam, female prisoners are trained how to sew, for instance, so they can be able to have jobs after their release. Therefore, in-prison education can provide people with abilities and knowledge they need to succeed in honest work and contribute positively to society.

On the other hand, it is my firm belief that educational measures are not the most efficient way to decrease crime rate. First, psychological circumstances can be a factor that influence criminal behavior. This means that individual factors such as personal traumatic experiences may lead people to violence and increase their likelihood of engaging in criminal behavior regardless of the education they receive. To illustrate this point, people who witnessed domestic violence during their childhood may be desensitized to such behavior, leading to criminal intents. Second, socioeconomic factors can also play a significant role in crime rates. Individuals living in poverty or facing economic hardship may be more likely to engage in criminal behavior as a means of survival or to address perceived injustices. For example, people who live in areas with limited job opportunities, high unemployment rates, or lack of access to education may be more likely to turn to crime. Even with a high level of education, individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds may still face barriers to economic success and social mobility, increasing their risk of criminal involvement.

In conclusion, while education can be a valuable tool in reducing crime, it is not the most efficient way to address the complex factors that contribute to criminal behavior.