studies show that criminals get a low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce the crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime often comes in tandem with illiteracy in a community. One school of thought is of the opinion that educating criminals while doing time will lessen the rate of recidivism since it makes criminals more employable . My sentiment is on pair with this opinion. This will be proven by looking at some possible benefits of this solution.

Firstly, vocational education is usually hailed as a key to prevent prison inmates from coming into contact with the law again. Based on global statistics, prison inmates who acquired some necessary occupational skills reveal a relevantly lower law infringement after resuming their ordinary lives. The reason seems clear: having access to secure job positions and earning substantially obviates the need to break the law to live a life.

Secondly, learning can change people's mindset as it is proven that our brain is plastic enough even after maturity. It has been scientifically proven that humans' brain is able to be reshaped over the lifespan. The provenance of a majority of these criminals is penniless families who could not afford a decent education before being handcuffed. Believing in the ability of these criminals, especially those of petty crimes, makes it fair enough to be exposed to education as a way for rehabilitation. Thus, the opportunity to introduce prisoners to a new perception of life should be embraced by authorities.

By contrast, prison education programs are not without opposition and there is often little public sympathy for prisoners. Arguments made against prison education mostly include that inmates do not deserve the right to be educated; doing so is being "soft on crime", and that it is a waste of taxpayers' money. However, it should be noted that this provided training is a rewarding remedy which might save more than it costs since it is can bring criminals to repentance.

To conclude, prison education not only can change an individual's personality but also it will teach them some necessary skills to work after their release. Hence, this will reduce recidivism as a prior goal of incarceration, so it seems advisable to fund such a means in order to keep communities safe.