Studying the English language in an English-speaking country is the best but not the only way to learn language. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this era of globalization being multilingual has become a need of the day. For this everyone is making all efforts possible to learn different languages. People even go to the native lands of language to learn it. Studying a language in a country where it is widely spoken has many advantages. It is, therefore, a good idea to study English in a country such as Britain. However, I believe it is not the only way to learn the language.

In the first place, most students in non-English-speaking countries learn English at secondary school, and sometimes at university nowadays. Although their spoken English is not usually of a very high standard, their knowledge of grammar is often quite advanced. This is certainly useful when students come to an English-speaking country to perfect the language. Secondly, studying the basics of English at secondary school is less stressful than learning the language while overseas. This is because students living at home do not have to worry about problems such as finding accommodation, paying for their study and living costs, and trying to survive in a foreign country where day to day living causes much stress.

However, there are obvious advantages of learning language in native land. Every day there are opportunities to practise listening to and speaking with native people of that language. Also, students can experience the culture firsthand, which is a great help when trying to understand the language. This is especially true if they choose to live with a native family of foreign language. Furthermore, if students attend a language school full-time, the teachers will be native speakers. In this case, not only will students' speaking and listening skills improve, but attention can be given to developing reading and writing skills as well.

In general, even though it is preferable to study foreign language in a native-speaking country. Howerver, a reasonable level of that language can be achieved in one's own country, if a student is gifted and dedicated to study.