TASK 2 : Governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move from large cities to regional areas. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages of damaging such areas?

These days, in many countries are giving many opportunities and welfares for industries and businesses in order to enhance their economy. Although, encouraging them to relocate to remote areas still provoke debates. While this tendency has several drawbacks, I hold an opinion that they could never dominate the benefits for the following reasons.

On the one hand, people who are against this may argue that this can be damaged to industries. Firstly, most of rural areas are lacking of communication and transportation system. Many sociologists have shown that the core difference between urban area and countryside is the missing of facilities like internet connection or highways. Furthermore, firms and industries are laid on delivery service and this can be a huge obstacle. Secondly, there will be a gap in recruiting and keeping the work force. Nowadays, skillful employees are often being hunted and they move from small towns to big cites as a regular basis in order to have a promising career path and more employment opportunities. This will lead to a pressure for industries that they have to deal with.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the above-mentioned drawbacks, I would argue that it will be such some potential benefits will eclipse the harms. This policy can directly tackle the demographic problem. The huge amount of numbers of companies in big cities can be seen as a huge magnet and under the eyes of workers in remote areas, this is absolutely appealing. And the consequence is that a number of people will leave their place to transfer to big cites, and this will end up by putting high pressure on public services, pollution and criminal issue. Although, it is really hard to recognize but the migration tendency can be stopped by supplying countryside by job opportunities. Another advantage is that the less competitive market can be beneficial to the firms and moreover is the support comes from the authorities. While the financial capital is the most crucial part to any industry, first step or crisis period can lead all the companies to the race of finding public funding or mortgage in urban cities. So that, moving to remote areas can be a solution thanks to the expansion fiscal policy.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of transferring to remote areas for industries and businesses, but, its advantages will eclipse its disadvantages.