Foreign tourists visit historical locations and museums more than residents. There are many reasons behind this tendency, and by following some steps local people might be motivated to visit such places more often.

There are many reasons why the number of local people who visit historical monuments and museums is fewer than overseas tourists, with the most significant one being a rather expensive entry fee of these places. This dissuades local people to revisit, say, a museum, which once has been visited by them since they think there might be nothing new and interesting to learn and enjoy. However, for foreign tourists who travel to another country which has a different culture and traditions, visiting historical and old places give them a golden opportunity to get acquainted with customs which might be completely different from what they have seen and experienced in their lives. Furthermore, the vast majority of local dwellers have to work long hours, leaving them less time for recreational activities, such as visiting art galleries or any kinds of museums.

There are many viable measures to encourage local people to visit historical places more than before. If such places remained appealing to local residents, a higher number of local people would be motivated to visit them. What local authorities should do is to make such places more attractive to residents, by holding more social gathering, wedding and commemoration in historical places.

Moreover, school children, local students and less-affluent sections of society should be offered with huge discounts regarding the entry fees of museums and art galleries, making them more motivated to revisit.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the monotony of museums and old buildings along with the high entrance fee make them less attractive places to local dwellers. The situation can be ameliorated by reducing entry fee and making such places less monotonous.