Using advertisements by firms to increase sales have soared over the last decade, which I believe it has brought about numerous problems to society. The factors which make an advertisement to be beneficial also will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

There are many reasons why using advertisements for boosting sales by companies are a negative trend, with the most significant one being ( creating) artificial wants for people. When people are exposed to a wide range of advertisements, they may tend to buy superfluous and low-quality products, causing a throw-away society. For example, advertising affordable but less durable running shoes not only might force buyers to purchase one more time but also may lead to an increase in the amount of produced waste. Either of which consequences are detrimental for individuals since they may lose financially or they might put their health and others at risks by generating much waste. Moreover, "keeping up with the Joneses" syndrome is on the rise since people are more informed about various products provided by companies. Although companies may benefit from such a tendency, it is families’ relations which may ruin gradually. Those who pester their parents to follow the latest trends may face conflicts and controversies as short-term implications and divorce as a long-term ramification.

Numerous factors make the advertising industry remarkably helpful for people. Firstly, advertisements enable people to make informed choices when they can compare the prices and quality of their commodities and services at the comfort of their homes. What makes this even more influential is the fact that those with less time are still available to enjoy the luxury of finding real bargains. Secondly, people are more aware of environmental issues. This would not be achieved if there were not enough informative advertisements which are being broadcast daily.

In conclusion, it seems to me that even if raising awareness and transparency might make an advertisement to be helpful, the adverse consequences associated with it are substantially serious.