Nowadays, people are exposed to a wide range of advertisements, ranging from TV and radio commercials to physical forms. Although this has brought about both advantages and drawbacks, I believe the disadvantages are far greater.

There are many reasons why the impacts of advertisements on people might be detrimental, with the most significant one being an increasing tendency to consumerism. When people find it hard to go anywhere without being exposed to advertisements, they are more likely to be persuaded to purchase superfluous and low-quality products. This may even cause a throw-away society in which individuals buy more single-used goods, leading to a rise in the number of waste materials. Moreover, in many cases, fast food companies overrate the quality of their products and tempt people to use such nutrients which lack proper ingredients and contain high levels of saturated fat and sugar, leading to chronic health issues. Obesity and heart diseases are cases in points.

Some may argue that the advertising industry has profound impacts on people's lives. Making an informed choice by reading various catalogues and brochures is the most beneficial factor highlighted by the advocates of such opinion. Since people have to work long hours, they may have less time to shop around in order to compare the prices and qualities of their commodities and consequently find real bargains. However, in many cases, such brochures do not provide adequate information needed for making wise choices. For instance, how people can find flattering clothes when they are unable to try or finger them?

In conclusion, it appears to me that even though advertisements may enable people, in some cases, to make sensible choices, the myriads of caused severe problems, including health issues, render exposing to them quite dangerous.