Some individuals are passionate about buying new electronic devices, such as smartphones and laptop. I believe this tendency has brought about many disadvantages for both people and the environment.

There are many reasons why purchasing up-to-the-minutes electronic products might have detrimental impacts on people's lives, with the most significant one being a lot of financial issues. Following the latest trends without spending money is impossible, when people try to keep pace with the state-of-the-art technology, they may be persuaded to use their credits and saves. Since new versions of electronic goods are produced almost every month if buyers tend to keep themselves up-to-date, they may easily get into huge debts. Such situations would be even more catastrophic for those who have family commitments as they may find themselves unable to meet their family needs. Moreover, when people change their smartphones and computers frequently, the old versions simply are thrown away, resulting in a larger amount of e-waste. The toxic materials of discarded gadgets, such as cadmium, would be indisputably harmful to the environment since they can easily release into bodies of water, soil and air, even if they are recycled properly.

Some may argue that buying new electronic devices is a positive tendency. The advocates of this idea emphasise the fact that people in such cases can benefit from the latest technology in their daily lives. For example, having a professionally-designed laptop which can run and perform the latest software would be a head start for its owners over their colleagues, leading to better work performance. However, how many of those compulsive shoppers are in such positions which are forced to have the latest versions of electronic devices? In the vast majority of cases, the only driving force behind their intention is just ' keeping up with the Joneses' syndrome, nothing more.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although in some rare situations people have to have the latest model of, say, smartphones which would be quite practical for them, other reasons for being updated would not satisfy the myriads of adverse consequences caused by changing electronic devices.