Some parents believe that children ought to have cell phones; however, others refute this idea, with which I am in complete agreement.

On the one hand, it is often claimed by some parents that smartphones would bring about numerous benefits for children. The advocates of this idea highlight the fact that children who are struggling to make friends in the real world have a golden opportunity to find new like-minded peers by joining social media platforms, such as Facebook and Instagram. By doing so, children who once were alone now have many connections with different children all over the world which enable them to learn about new traditions at an early age. Moreover, nowadays, parents have to work long hours and they have less time to get involved in their children's assignment. If children have smartphones, they can easily benefit from educational tutorials, video clips and sessions that are ubiquities on the internet.

On the other hand, some parents opine that smartphones would be quite detrimental for children. The proponents of this mindset emphasise the point that it acts as a powerful deterrent to a child's social development. When children have cell phones, they may become addicted or even obsessed with them, depriving such children of having constructive face-to-face interactions with their real friends. If children do not develop their communication skills while they are young, they may face unlimited hurdles later on in their lives. For example, children may find it hard to work within a team, when it comes to group projects since they have not learnt how to express themselves, how to delegate tasks and how to come up with new ideas. Furthermore, what children need is physical activities and outdoor plays not spending a huge amount of time with their mobile phones. If children are provided with cell phones, they are more likely to use it excessively and prefer it to outdoor activities, causing them myriads of health problems, such as child obesity due to lack of physical movements.

In conclusion, after hashing out both points of views, it appears to me that although providing children with mobile phones may have some positive impacts on their academic performances since they are not trained properly to how to use it effectively, the grave implications of having such a device are seriously dangerous for a child's both social and physical well-being.