Some people opine that governments should take responsibility to preserve the environment; however, others believe that it is people's responsibility, with which I am in complete agreement.

On the one hand, it is claimed by many that governments should play a vital role in protecting the environment. The advocates of this opinion emphasise the importance of legislation which only authorities can use it. When the amount of carbon dioxide emitted from power plants exceed the legal limit only governments could impose tighter rules and punishments for such lawbreakers. Furthermore, if there were more affordable and attractive public transportation systems, people would use them more frequently instead of their private vehicles, resulting in a lesser amount of carbon monoxide and nitrogen dioxide which are the main contributors to air pollution. Finally, improving farming methods, including crop rotation, and restricting chemicals used in agriculture, such as pesticides, insecticides and fertilizers should be governments' primary concerns.

On the other hand, others think that people should be responsible for protecting the environment. The proponents of this idea highlight the fact that, in many cases, governments cannot oversee and control the actions of all individuals even if there might be introduced laws. What people should do is conserve energy, recycle more and use environmentally friendly products, such as clothes made of recycled fabric, compostable bowls and biodegradable plastic bags. These decisive actions might have profound impacts on the environment since the amount of waste generated might decrease substantially. Moreover, people can easily unsubscribe from websites which send unsolicited physical junk mail or even put a ' no junk mail' sticker on their letterbox. These simple strategies discourage such companies to send regular letters, brochures and posters, leading to a remarkable decrease in the amount of needed paper for such usages. If people follow just those steps, logging companies will be demotivated to cut down forests more as there are no longer any markets for their products.

In conclusion, after hashing out both points of views, it seems to me that although governments may have more access to laws and resources, it is individuals’ responsibilities to change their lifestyle to protect the environment.