Task 2: In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Many countries in the world nowadays educate their children that hard-working people could succeed in any subject. While this message could bring about some specific merits, the drawbacks of this advice outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, there are some noticeable benefits of this advice. Firstly, this conception helps to motivate and encourage their children to keep moving despite encountering hardships in their studies. This might undergird children’s beliefs about success in the future. For example, while my niece does not believe in her ability, after my mother’s advice about trying hard she could have better academic performance. Secondly, since the children could conceptualize the importance of their endless effort, they might be more independent instead of relying on other factors such as the wealth of their families. By contrast, if the children could not embrace this message, they might be lazy and have misconceptions.

However, this message also brings about some clear drawbacks. First and foremost, other factors such as studying method, innate talents or financial condition also play important roles in achieving their targets. For instance, while becoming a singer needs to have a good voice which is inherited since a child was born, trying hard could not help them to change their inherent abilities. Similarly, although a child does not have an ideal height or gorgeous appearance which working hard does not give them these innate elements, a child still wants to be a professional model or beauty queen. As a result, this affects adversely children’s mental health, and they might suffer from mental problems such as self-esteem, depression, or frustration.

In conclusion, although teaching children that attempting to result in success is a great way to motivate them, there are some disadvantages to educating their children that only the hard-working factor is enough for them to pursue their dreams.