Task 2: Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the modern film industry has strongly developed to fulfill the increasing needs of the audiences. Although it is commonly believed by some that movies are solely a form of recreation, others hold a belief that educational features should be added into the movies’ plot lines. This essay is to deliberate both notions before drawing a conclusion.

On the one hand, we should first acknowledge the fact that films, regardless of genre, are have been an actual/popular/favored means of entertainment for people since their early days. It is undeniable that when seeing a movie, moviegoers are likely to temporarily escape from their daily life worries and burdens, which may help them relieve their stress and be mentally healthier. Additionally, some specific genres of movies such as comedy can make people laugh and become elated. In brief, films are the optimal choice made for entertainment purposes.

One the other hand, spectators should also receive innumerable educational values from enjoying these works. Motion pictures can be a powerful educational tool because exploiting movies for educational purposes is beneficial for students since the process of watching either helps pupils entertain after monotonous study hours or stimulates the visual memory centers, which helps the information to be remembered better. Furthermore, visual images in films are associated with hearing and texting; learners can take advantage of this to boost their language skills by watching foreign movies. It is a fact that numerous learners, especially children, develop their English by watching films.

As shown above, although the features of films are mainly about entertainment, I firmly believe that educational aspects should be added in order to make the most of movies