TASK 2

Students should be completely free to choose whether to study or play games. They should be allowed to manage their own time. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that children had better have the freedom in managing their own time, for example, whether to play games or study. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement because of two reasons explained in the essay below.

Firstly, students are not aware of how precious time is. Several students think that they are too young to start something academically, and their time has not been over yet. For that reason, young children tend to prioritize their personal interests rather than any other things else. Moreover, games bring children immediate satisfaction while study is a long-term process to see improvement. For instance, more than 70% of students interviewed in recent research claimed that if their time were not interfered by other people, they would spend most of it playing computer games.

Secondly, time management is a complicated task. These days, more and more adults struggle in managing time. This gives rise to the fact that even if they have got 24 hours a day, they still have the feeling of running out time. In addition, time management is a developing skill which takes children not just one or two days but perhaps their whole life to enhance. Therefore, once kids are under supervision of parents, it may help them adapt this skill more quickly.

In conclusion, I do think pupils ought not to control their time on their own at such ages as most students do not really appreciate time and managing time is still too tricky.