The technology development has affected social relationships from person to person. Do the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative aspects?

In recent decades, the issue of whether the proliferation of technology, especially communication technology, exerts detrimental impacts on human social relationships or not has aroused people’s discussion. Although the implications of technology on social relationships are not without demerits, the upsides of this will justify these.

An array of negative outcomes of technology on human social relationships can be identified. First, since social networking users have excessive exposure to virtual world, there is a high possibility that they could abuse social media to have interaction with other people, either relatives or even acquaintances. For example, in lieu of having face-to-face conversation with others, many today’s adolescents are inclined to pay too much attention to their own cell phones and chat with virtual friends on social networking sites, potentially undermining the quality of their real relationships and destroying them in the near future. Second, people, especially busy ones, are unable to build or maintain their relationships with friends and family due to devoting too much time to working continuously, because technology allows them to boost work productivity. This means that workload keeps them too busy to nurture their relationships with others, consequently fracturing concrete relationships.

There are, however, some dazzling benefits that can easily overshadow the negative technology’s impacts on human social relationships. Initially, thanks to the proliferation of technology, it has made communication accessible, which helps citizens be able to have conversation with others without requiring physical travel and keep in touch with people at ease. For instance, a touch-screen allows people to have chat via social media such as Facebook and Instagram, which in turns promote their social behavior. Additionally, by harnessing communication technology, people can expand their social circles. This means that citizens are able to make friends regardless of geographical barriers, making people around the globe socialized.