Nowadays, children watch TV more than they did in the past. Reasons? Measures?

In recent decades, the issue of children’s TV addiction has aroused people’s discussion. Although this problem can be attributed for a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be found to address it.

Some convincing reasons can be cited to explain for the emergence of the problem. Firstly, since the considerable growth of state-of-the-art technology allows televisions to offer their viewers not only attractive images but also sound and visual effects, these intriguing things would evoke children’s curiosity. For example, a variety of films with catchy music and authentic images makes kids binge-watch most of the time, which greatly yields to children’s addiction on televisions. Secondly, due to devoting too much time and effort to constantly doing work, parents pay less attention on their offspring and do not provide them with outdoor activities. Therefore, children are reliant on TVs as mental rewards, potentially not only making children addicted to electric devices, particularly televisions but also leading to their sedentary lifestyle in the near future.

An array of effective measures can be identified to break screen habit in children.

Initially, by setting time limit when children watch televisions, parents are able to east the time that children glues eyes on TVs. This means that their offspring should only watch TVs on a certain time, which gradually helps break the screen habit in children. Additionally, if more fun alternatives were provided, children would be able to lead a proactive lifestyle. For instance, their offspring should be given opportunities to participate in extracurricular activities such as playing sports or learning how to cook, which in turn are beneficial for children’s physical and intellectual development.

In conclusion, today’s kids are inclined to get addicted to TVs because of not only an authentic environment of televisions but also lack of parents’ consideration. Nevertheless, some feasible solutions should be taken into consideration such as time limit and more recreational activities offered.