Recently, much attention has been drawn to the phenomenon that the living standard of metropolitan cities tends to get decreased. In this essay, the factors responsible for this problem will be discussed and the feasible solution will be proposed accordingly.

There are several factors contributing to this phenomenon. First of all, this problem can be attributed to the fact that citizens in megacities tend to live a hectic life nowadays. So fierce is the competition that working adults have no choice but to fully apply themselves to career development. It is conceivable that if employees slacken his or her efforts at self-improvement, he or she is doomed to be eliminated by the hot competition. As a result, they have no time to enjoy family time and to hang out with friends to socialize. Secondly, this issue is exacerbated by a bad lifestyle. To be specific, due to the piles of workload, working people tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. They sit in front of the computer all day and do not take regular exercise or stretch bodies, which poses a threat to both their physical and mental health. Last but not least, the environment in large cities becoming worse also lead to people there suffering from pollution-related diseases.

Accordingly, the solutions to this problem varied. To begin with, a healthy work style has much to do with employees’ lives, by reducing the excessive workload companies could help them find a way to strike a proper balance between work and life, which is beneficial to life quality improvement. For instance, staff can enjoy dinners with family members and have more time to play with their children if they can get off work earlier, which enhances their family relationships. In addition, working people should pay more attention to their lifestyles by making a conscious effort to take exercise regularly and to avoid sitting on the seat the whole day, and only in this way could their health condition get improved.

In conclusion, various factors cause the problem that citizens’ life quality in big cities is declining. But I believe that if they can carry out the measures mentioned above, they will address the issue in the foreseeable future.