Television sporting shows such as Olympics to motivate the youth who do not like to exercise much. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, telecasting sports such as Olympics have increasingly become popular with the young, which encourages them to do more physical activities. Personally, I partly agree that these sport channels play the most crucial role in changing young people’s thought.

There are several benefits to watching sporting events on television, which not only inspires young people to engage in sports, but also helps them understand sport regulations. Firstly, when adolescents watch sports and games on television, they are likely to feel the temptation to play these sports. For instance, many teenagers tend to go in for this sport after learning about it from the media. Secondly, thanks to the sporting shows, all the rules and technical specifications are widely popularized and therefore they can employ what they know into practice. In my country, most of children understand the positions of players or even they know how to win their opponents in the football match.

However, I believe that an unhealthy amount of time of screen time has an adverse impact on physical state of youngsters. On the one hand, although watching sporting events give teenagers the full enjoyment and happiness, it may cause some detrimental health issues such as obesity and eye-sight problems. In particular, a large number of children in Viet Nam undergo rapid weight gain due to spending too much time watching sports. On the other hand, addiction to a variety of sporting programs is main culprit, which leads to a sedentary lifestyle for children. As a result, if bad habits are gradually formed, the youth can suffer from various health issues at their early age because of preference for sports shows.

In conclusion, despite the inspiration of watching television program, I am convinced that young people had better play sports in lieu of watching them on television.